August wrap up

It’s that time of the month again. The time for a wrap up. This month has been a great reading month for me. I have however been sick and busy whit work, which means I couldn’t read as much as I wanted and even though the books I read were great it was hard to get through them because you know I had a fever. That’s why I had to degrade this month from awesome to great. Anyways Lets move I read ten books this month and all of them were 5 or 4 star reads which I guess makes this an awesome reading month. On to the actual books, I read this month.


Pictures56And I Darken by Kiersten White

This book was amazing and I loved it. It is a retelling of Vlad the impailer, only its gender flipped so that Vlad is actually a girl named Lada. I gave it five stars and if you want to know more, I have a review.

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

This book was just WOW. I loved the writing style, the characters and the story. It is about a girl named Mia who is an assassin. She wants to go to the red church, which trains assassins so that she can get revenge on the people that killed her family. The red church may be a school but this is nothing like Hogwarts, this is a school where the teachers give you tasks that may kill you, and all your classmates are all trained killers. It was awesome! There is also magic elements in this story and boy were they fantastic. I gave this 5 stars and it is definitely on my top 10 reads of this year list.

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

This was another amazing story. I loved how the whole monster thing worked and the characters were great. I also really enjoyed the lack of romance in this book. It was refreshing. I gave this one 5 stars as well.


Pictures59Ruined by Amy Tintera

This book was full of magic and intrigue and I loved it. It was about a girl who impersonates a princess in order to marry the prince of the family that killed her parents and is hunting her people. She is planning to kill this family to get revenge but she develops some feelings for her husband which making her question the plan. It was a captivating story and I gave it 5 stars.

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows.

So this book is co-written by two of my favourite authors and a third one that I have been meaning to read a book by so I had to buy it. It was a fun book that used lot of humour and mixed magic into history. The way they did it made it fun but not totally farfetched. It was great and I gave it 5 stars. Are you noticing a theme yet?

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

This is the second book in the miss peregrine’s peculiar children trilogy, and it was just as good as the first book, maybe even better. It picks up right where the first book ended and from that point on it is a crazy ride full of adventure and peculiarity. Can you guess how many stars I gave it? That’s right 5!


Pictures60.jpgThe Fixer and The Long Game By Jennifer Lynn Barnes

I found myself being in the mood for a mystery type thing after all the fantasy I read and The fixer sounded perfect. It is a political series about Tess who has to move to D.C to live with her sister who happens to be the most famous Fixer there. What is a fixer you ask? It is a person that fixes things for important people, covers up scandals, makes problems go away etc. Tess does something for one of her classmates and before she knows it, the entire school is coming to her with their problems, because they think she is a fixer like her sister. Both books had lots of action and an intriguing mystery and I really enjoyed them both. I gave them 4.5 stars.

The Conspiracy of Us and Map of Fates by Maggie Hall

This series by Maggie Hall is also full of mystery and intrigue. It is about Avery that finds out that her family is part of an ancient society containing some of the most influential people of the world. Like that isn’t enough of a shock it turns out she is part of a prophecy that the circle believes is the key to defeating their enemies the Order and if they realise who she is they would all want to use her. Then it turns out that the order has kidnapped someone she cares about and in order to save him she has to follow a bunch of clues he left her around the world. So far, I am really enjoying the story and I will definitely be picking up book three when it is released. I gave both of these books 4 stars.


That concludes my wrap up for august. If any of you have a wrap up feel free to leave a link in the comments so I can check it out. 😀  What did you guys read this month? Any of the books I did? 😀

Luna.

 

 

5 thoughts on “August wrap up

  1. Jasmine says:

    10 books despite being sick? That’s really a productive month! I read 8 books and I feel that’s a big accomplishment for me.. hehe.. Is the Ransom Rigg’s book creepy? The cover looks creepy hehe..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

